History And Mission

Golden Rams

Albany State University


Fort Valley State University


The football rivalry between Fort Valley State University and Albany State University is almost a century old, dating back to 1924, and in 1989, the Fountain City Classic was birthed to celebrate this historical matchup.  Columbus, Georgia, was chosen as the host site for the Fountain City Classic, as both schools have many alumni in the area and Columbus is centrally located.  State Representative Calvin Smyre, a Fort Valley State College alumnus, has been at the helm as Chairman of the Fountain City Classic for over 30 years. 

The rivalry began in 1945, although 2022 is just the 32nd meeting of the two teams since it became officially known as the Fountain City Classic in 1990. FVSU leads the series 33-31-3.

The first meeting of the two schools was in 1945, when FVSU beat ASU, 27-21. The two schools did not play each other in 1946, 1947, and 2020. While the rivalry between the two teams spans more than half a century, FCC officials moved the game to Columbus in 1990 to attract more corporate support.

The driving force behind the Fountain City Classic has always been to create opportunities, connections, and financial support for students interested in attending these historically black universities. 

The Fountain City Classic also has a significant impact on the economy of the Columbus area, bringing tens of thousands of visitors to the region each year to enjoy the festivities.  The FCC committee has also sought to give back to the Columbus community through health fairs, college recruitment, networking events, and continued economic development. 

The Classic, which has grown to include more than just the football game itself, has become a much-anticipated, must-attend event in the region. 

History of the Matchup

YearAlbany StateFort Valley StateSeries
1990Albany State35Fort Valley0ASU1–0
1991Albany State20Fort Valley22FVSU1-1
1992Albany State29Fort Valley10ASU2–1
1993Albany State14Fort Valley State0ASU3–1
1994Albany State47Fort Valley State14ASU4-1
1995Albany State12Fort Valley State16FVSU4-2
1996Albany State21Fort Valley State7ASU5-2
1997Albany State12Fort Valley State7ASU6-2
1998Albany State14Fort Valley State17FVSU6-3
1999Albany State24Fort Valley State21ASU7-3
2000Albany State21Fort Valley State14ASU8-3
2001Albany State7Fort Valley State45FVSU8-4
2002Albany State31Fort Valley State7ASU9-4
2003Albany State27Fort Valley State17ASU10-4
2004Albany State20Fort Valley State19ASU11-4
2005Albany State41Fort Valley State23ASU12-4
2006Albany State21Fort Valley State3ASU13-4
2007Albany State32Fort Valley State27ASU14-4
2008Albany State31Fort Valley State7ASU15-4
2009Albany State13Fort Valley State35FVSU15-5
2010Albany State12Fort Valley State7ASU16-5
2011Albany State38Fort Valley State29ASU17-5
2012Albany State20Fort Valley State38FVSU17-6
2013Albany State19Fort Valley State10ASU18-6
2014Albany State32Fort Valley State21ASU19-6
2015Albany State21Fort Valley State17ASU20-6
2016Albany State17Fort Valley State21FVSU20-7
2017Albany State34Fort Valley State9ASU21-7
2018Albany State40Fort Valley State6ASU22-7
2019Albany State42Fort Valley State6ASU23-7
2020Albany StateNo GameFort Valley StateNo GameASU23-7
2021Albany State57Fort Valley State0ASU24-7
2022Albany State13Fort Valley State19ASU24-8